Skip to main content

UMass Dartmouth, Office of Campus Master Planning & Facilities Management records

Identifier: URC -060


  • 1964-2014

Biographical / Historical

The SMTI Building Authority was created in 1964 by an act of the legislature (Chapter 703 of the 1964 Acts and Resolves). It consisted of nine members, appointed by the governor with the advice and consent of council, three of whom were to be members of the board of trustees. The general purpose of the Authority was to “aid and contribute to the performance of the educational and other purposes of the Institute [SMTI] by providing dormitories, dining commons, and other buildings and structures for the use of the Institute, its students, staff, and their dependents.” The Authority acted upon the initiation of the SMTI Board of Trustees. The Southeastern Massachusetts Technological Institute Business Authority [SMTI] was changed to the Southeastern Massachusetts University Business Authority [SMU] in 1972. In 1980 the state legislature created a statewide building authority, the Massachusetts Public Higher Education Building Authority, Three individual campus building authorities continued to operate until 1992 when they merged into the UMass Building Authority (University of Lowell, Southeastern Massachusetts University, and University of Massachusetts)

The UMass Building Authority is a distinct, public organization established by the Massachusetts Legislature; its mission is to build facilities on the University of Massachusetts campuses that could be financed from student fees and charges. Facilities include student dormitories, dining facilities and parking garages.

In order to construct facilities, the Authority borrows funds by issuing tax-exempt bonds. The University has pledged to pay the principal and interest on the bonds issued by the Authority over the life of the bonds. The Authority is also responsible for the construction of these facilities and hires architects, engineers and construction firms to design and build them. After the facilities are completed, they are used and maintained by the University while the Authority maintains ownership of the buildings.

By statute, the Authority has eleven members, appointed by the Governor, who oversee the activities of the Authority. Five of these members are also Trustees of the University of Massachusetts. Two of the six non-trustee Members must be graduates of the University.


20 Linear Feet

Language of Materials


URC 60, UMass Dartmouth, Office of Campus Master Planning & Facilities Management records
In Progress
Judy Farrar, assisted by Richard Bender and Christina Sobran
September 2019
Description rules
Describing Archives: A Content Standard
Language of description
Script of description

Repository Details

Part of the Claire T. Carney Library Archives and Special Collections, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth Repository

285 Old Westport Rd.
N. Dartmouth MA 02747 USA